Maine State Laws

Maine Law

Maine is the northern-most state of the continental United States where it touches Canadian territory and the Atlantic Ocean. This ocean-side state is well-known for its constant harvest of clams and lobsters and also for giving way to its famous New England clam chowder. As one of the nation’s oldest territories with the landing of the 1607 Plymouth Company, Maine has expanded and flourished because of its access to rich seafood.

Upon becoming a state Maine created its own set of rules and laws for how the citizens and people’s rights were to be handled. Many of those laws still exist in present-day Maine and include laws in areas where the federal government has not yet set specifics. These include gun laws, bankruptcy laws, divorce laws, labor laws, felony punishment, expungement, and many others.


Every state in the nation has its own requirements for how divorce petitions are handled. Maine requires those petitioning for divorce to be residents of the state for no less than six months. Since divorce cases are managed through the county circuit courts, each county is in charges of its own residents. When filing for divorce an individual may file within his or her county or the county of his or her spouse.

In order for a divorce petition to be legal, it must be sent to the correct county, or the case will be dismissed. Divorce petitions may also be granted for those who were married within the state lines of Maine but are no longer residents. Those serving the United States military in Maine are considered residents.

Record Sealing

When expungement of criminal records is not possible, the sealing of records may be possible. Maine has three types of records sealing for those who are eligible. The first form is designed for juvenile criminal records where three years has passed; the second form is designed for juvenile cases where no conviction was reached; and the third form is designed for individuals who do not have current adjudicatory proceedings for adult crimes or juvenile crimes. Record sealing is different from expungement and still allows some access to criminal records. Under both expungement and records sealing, criminal records are not erased and may later be used as prior offenses in current cases.

Personal Leave

Maine does not have state laws in regards to personal and family leave and instead uses those of federal law. The federal Family and Medical Leave Act allows individuals to take up to twelve weeks of unpaid leave for medical or family purposes without employment termination. Maternity leave and paternity leave are both covered under this law. This act states that an individual will return to work and receive his or her former occupation or one of equal pay and benefit.

The Family and Medical Leave Act also allows expectant fathers to take the necessary leave without termination to care for pregnant wives. Employers also have the right to hire a temporary employee while another is on leave but are then required to terminate that employee when the permanent employee returns from leave.

Maine Law Articles

Maine Lemon Laws

Lemon Law in Maine The Maine Lemon Law is designed to protect and empower consumers. If you’re a resident of Maine and your car has experienced a serious defect, you…

Maryland Labor Laws

Maryland Labor Law Breaks Only employees in the retail sector receive 15 minutes for shifts lasting 4 to 6 hours, 30 minutes for those lasting 6 to 8 hours, and…

Maine Divorce Laws

Divorce Laws in Maine In Maine, couples have the option to file for divorce on the grounds of irreconcilable differences (“no-fault” divorce) or due to adultery, desertion, or cruelty (“fault-based”…

Maine Bankruptcy Laws

How to File Bankruptcy in Maine Due to the new bankruptcy act of 2005, all those who are filing for a bankruptcy are required by law to attend credit counseling…

Maine Expungement

In the state of Maine, expungement is the removal of previous criminal records from public view and from the view of law enforcement officials. When a record is expunged, the…

Maine Misdemeanors

Misdemeanors differ from one state to the next. A misdemeanor in one state may be an infraction in another, and a felony in one state may be a misdemeanor in…

Maine Felony

When it comes to crime classifications, the law, statutes, and sentencing guidelines are determined by each state’s legislature. If you or a loved one is charged with a crime, it…

Maine DUI Laws

Maine DUI Minor Laws Like other United States, Maine has a zero tolerance law for minors who drink and drive. The blood alcohol content level for adults is 0.08 percent….

Maine Marijuana Laws

Maine Laws  – Marijuana Maine is one of seventeen states that allows marijuana to be possessed for medical purposes. Maine citizens must first apply for the treatment according to a…

Maine Labor Laws

Maine Labor Law Breaks Unlike most other states, Maine has its own laws for how meal breaks are to be handled. Most states use federal laws in regard to meal…

Maine Gun Laws

Gun Laws in Maine In the state of Maine gun laws there exist specific laws regarding different forms of firearms. Within these laws are stipulations for minors. The following are…