Louisiana’s culture is strongly derived from those who settled the area over three hundred years ago. In addition to those who later immigrated to the area now known as Louisiana, the state holds the influences of African, Spanish, French, and Indian heritage. The influences are still strongly present in different areas of Louisiana.
More cultural influences are present in how Louisiana uses its state government. Louisiana has taken influences of Roman, English, German, and Spanish is governments and incorporated them into its own system. This state has created laws where the federal government has yet to makes laws. Many of these include bankruptcy laws, divorce laws, drunken driving laws, expungement laws, labor laws, gun laws, and others.
The federal government recently added new requirements for who may apply for different kinds of bankruptcy and set new holds on who is eligible for bankruptcy. These new federal laws are designed to decrease abuse on the nation bankruptcy system.
Louisiana has two different kinds of bankruptcy for personal use: Chapter Thirteen bankruptcy and Chapter Seven bankruptcy. Chapter Thirteen bankruptcy allows individuals to use their own income to pay off their outstanding debts. Upon acceptance, Chapter Thirteen bankruptcy will create a payment plan for each individual so that all debts can be paid within five years or less. Chapter Seven bankruptcy allows individuals to liquidate different portions of their property to be used for debt payment. This process can be completed in as little as three months.
The state of Louisiana requires that those filing for divorce first be state residents for at least twelve months prior to petitioning. Since all divorces in Louisiana are seen through the Judicial District Court, where residents live designates where they will file for divorce. A spouse may file for divorce, and he or she may do so in either his or her own county or that of his or her spouse.
If a divorce petition is filed to the incorrect county, the petition will be dismissed. An individual does not need to be a state resident of Louisiana as long as his or her spouse is a Louisiana resident for the required amount of time. Louisiana, unlike most other states, does require that both individuals file for divorce.
The national blood alcohol content limit is set at 0.08 percent. Those who exceed this limit will be arrested and later charged. The conviction for driving under the influence depends on any prior offenses and any aggravating circumstances. Having a blood alcohol content level of 0.15 percent or higher will result in increase punishments, despite being a first offense.
Punishments for driving under the influence in Louisiana include community service, incarceration, fines, driver’s license suspension, and substance abuse courses.
In 1938 the national government created an act that requires employers to pay their employees more for working overtime. The Fair Labor Standards Act states that working more than forty hours a week is considered overtime. Louisiana currently sets its overtime payment to paying time-and-one-half an hour for any time worked over forty hours.
Louisiana Law Articles
Louisiana Lemon Laws
Lemon Law in Louisiana Lemon law in the state of Louisiana is designed to help consumers relieve themselves of defective yet new motor vehicles. Motor vehicles are not the only…
To be held in custody for a misdemeanor in Louisiana, a person must be charged within 45 days of being arrested. Those who are not detained must face a misdemeanor…
In terms of criminal law, felonies are the most serious category. A person is typically arrested for a felony crime when the crime results in serious personal injury, death, or…
Louisiana Marijuana Laws
If you’ve ever visited Bourbon Street in New Orleans or seen any videos of a Mardi Gras party there you would assume anything goes. On some level that is true….
Louisiana Labor Laws
Louisiana Labor Law Breaks Regarding rest periods for workers 18 years of age and older, Louisiana falls back on federal law. Only if it lasts less than 20 minutes must…
Louisiana DUI Laws
Louisiana law states that those driving while intoxicated are to be convicted with misdemeanors. Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol also constitutes misdemeanor charges if the individuals have…
Expungement in Louisiana The process of legally erasing and destroying records and the information contained in each file is known as expungement. This includes files stored in computer databases. Juvenile…
The state of Louisiana states that a person must be charged within forty-five days of an arrest to be held in custody for a misdemeanor. Those that are not held…
Louisiana Bankruptcy Laws
How to File Bankruptcy in Louisiana Bankruptcy is not for everyone or every situation. Bankruptcy can be of great help for some but can cause great losses for others. Since…
Louisiana Divorce Laws
Filing a Petition for Divorce The initiatory document is called Petition for Divorce. The Petition must allege at least one specific ground for the termination of the marriage. The Petition…
Louisiana Gun Laws
Gun Laws in Louisiana Louisiana does not require that individuals first obtain a permit before purchasing a handgun, shotgun, or a rifle. However it is illegal in the state of…