Misdemeanors differ from one state to the next. A misdemeanor in one state may be an infraction in another, and a felony in one state may be a misdemeanor in another. Misdemeanors and felonies in Maine are classified from A to E. However, in the state of Maine, misdemeanors and felonies are not referred to as such. Instead, the crimes are classified as a single type.
Class A, B, and C crimes would be felony convictions under other states’ standards, while Class D and E crimes would be misdemeanor convictions. The least serious crimes begin in the E class and progress upward in class as the crimes become more serious. Misdemeanor offenses can be upgraded to felonies if certain objects are used in the assault or a certain amount of drugs is in possession. Criminal possession of a usable amount of marijuana is one of them. A usable amount is less than two and a half ounces of marijuana. This is a civil offense punishable by a fine ranging from $350 to $650. A repeat violation may result in a more severe punishment if it occurs within six months of the first violation.
Possession of five or fewer plants is considered a cultivation crime and is classified as a Class E crime. The punishment for this type of crime is up to six months in a county jail facility, with or without a $1,000 fine. Possession of five to one hundred plants is a Class D crime punishable by up to a year in county jail with or without a two thousand dollar fine. Possession of 100 to 500 plants is classified as a Class C crime. This type of felony is punishable by up to five years in state prison and up to $500 in fines. Possession of more than 500 plants is a Class B crime punishable by ten years in a state prison with or without a 20,000-dollar fine.
The sale of less than a pound of marijuana is classified as a Class D crime, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $2,000 fine. A Class C crime is the sale of marijuana weighing one pound to twenty pounds, which is punishable by up to five years in state prison and a $5,000 fine. A Class B crime carries the harshest punishment for a drug offense, with up to ten years in prison and a fine of up to twenty thousand dollars. This crime is defined as the sale of twenty pounds or more of marijuana.
Maine Crime Expungement
All records on court, detention or correctional facility, law enforcement, or criminal justice agency files can be expunged in most cases. All records relating to an arrest, detention, apprehension, or trial are expungable. Violent crimes, on the other hand, cannot be erased.