When it comes to crime classifications, the law, statutes, and sentencing guidelines are determined by each state’s legislature. If you or a loved one is charged with a crime, it is critical that you understand these distinctions. A felony is a more serious charge than a misdemeanor in every state. Maine felonies are classified by letter and have specific sentencing guidelines.
Class A Felony
If you are charged with a Class A felony in Maine, you are suspected of committing some of the most serious crimes. Murder is one of these types of crimes, which can be classified as either first or second degree depending on the severity and circumstances. Typically, these types of murder charges are for premeditated murder or murder committed while committing a crime.
A Class A felony can also be charged for manslaughter, which is defined as a death caused by unintended consequences or in the “heat of the moment.” Rape, arson, burglary, kidnapping, and gross sexual assault involving a minor under the age of 16 are also Class A felonies in Maine.
A person convicted of a Class A murder felony faces a minimum sentence of 25 years in prison. Other Class A felonies carry prison sentences of up to 30 years. The actual sentence range is determined by the judge in the case.
Class B Felony
In Maine, there are numerous types of crimes that qualify as a Class B felony. Among these are theft of services with a monetary value greater than $10,000, aggravated assault, burglary (including breaking and entering), drug crimes such as possession with intent to sell, larceny, stalking, aggravated assault, sexual crimes, and embezzlement. Class B felonies in Maine can result in a prison sentence of up to ten years and a fine of up to twenty thousand dollars.
Class C Felony
A Class C felony is still a serious charge that may include drug crimes, robbery, perjury, forgery, terrorizing, reckless conduct with a deadly weapon, or embezzlement for a lesser amount than a Class B embezzlement charge. A Class C felony conviction could result in at least five years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
Class D Felony
In Maine, the final felony classification is Class D. These charges may include evading arrest, reckless behavior, making threats, assaults, or drug offenses. In these cases, the sentence is at least one year in prison and a $10,000 fine. In some cases, you can be charged with the same crime as a felony or a misdemeanor. An experienced criminal defense attorney can often negotiate a plea bargain agreement in which you admit guilt to a lesser charge in order to avoid a trial and move on with your life.
Maine Restricts Felony Expungement
If you have been convicted of a felony in Maine, you will not be able to have it removed from your record, according to state law. Maine state law, on the other hand, allows you to apply for DNA testing to see if your conviction can be overturned. Of course, this is dependent on whether DNA evidence is relevant to your crime. If you were found not guilty or the case was dismissed, you can ask the court to have your arrest record erased.