In terms of criminal law, felonies are the most serious category. A person is typically arrested for a felony crime when the crime results in serious personal injury, death, or property loss. Many states have created classifications for felonies and assigned them letters such as Class A felony, Class B felony, and so on. Louisiana, on the other hand, does not make the same distinctions for felonies committed within the state. They have instead established specific descriptions and sentencing guidelines for these crimes. The following is a list of major felony crimes in Louisiana.
First Degree Murder
A person convicted of willfully and intentionally planning and carrying out a murder is charged with this type of Louisiana felony. If the jury in the case determined this, the punishment is death or life imprisonment with hard labor without the benefit of parole, probation, or sentence suspension.
Second Degree Murder
When a murder occurs in “the heat of the moment,” a second degree murder charge is usually applied. If you are convicted of this felony, you could face life in prison without the possibility of parole and forced labor.
A person convicted of rape that resulted in severe bodily harm to the victim is charged with this felony. This Louisiana felony is punishable by life in prison without the possibility of parole and with hard labor. The state may seek the death penalty in exceptional circumstances, such as when a minor under the age of 13.
A person found guilty of manslaughter has frequently caused the death of another person through neglect rather than on purpose. This felony crime carries a prison sentence of no more than forty years of hard labor. Special circumstances for this felony arise as a result of the victim’s age. If the victim is under the age of ten, the minimum sentence will be ten years of hard labor, with a maximum sentence of forty years.
First Degree Robbery
A robbery felony occurs when the stolen items are worth more than $500. The sentence for this Louisiana felony can range from three to forty years in prison, depending on the judge and the circumstances.
Theft, Third Offense
The third robbery offense is subject to the three strikes felony law, which carries a sentence of up to twenty years in prison.
A third DUI conviction can result in a minimum of 45 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
Assault on a police officer
Assault on a police officer that results in an injury requiring medical attention is considered a felony in Louisiana and is punishable by up to five years of hard labor.
Your Louisiana felony conviction will remain on your record unless it is officially expunged. You can apply to the court to have your felony expunged, but whether or not this is granted depends on the circumstances. There will be no expungement in the case of sexual assault on a minor under the age of 17.