Oregon Marijuana Law Details
Before marijuana could ever become legalized, it first has to be accepted as being either a benefit to medical patients or not harmful to everyone else. Many states have adopted medical marijuana laws allowing patients to use marijuana to treat their illnesses. Oregon has been in the forefront of allowing for medical marijuana use since 1998 when the proposition for medicinal use of pot was first pass by the residents.
Since that time, the Oregon medical marijuana law has expanded. Based on studies, today qualified patients are allowed to keep up to 24 ounces of cannabis for use as opposed to the original amount of 3 ounces. They can also grow up to six plants for their private use instead of the original 3 plants.
In order to qualify for this exemption, a patient needs to have a medical marijuana prescription from a certified physician. They will then be issued a special I.D. card which they must carry at all times. For everyone else who is arrested and convicted as a non-medical user/seller there are penalties and fines to pay.
Oregon Marijuana Possession Penalties
A person who is arrested with less than one ounce of marijuana in their possession will be charged with a misdemeanor. There is no jail time with this charge only a possible fine of anywhere between $500 to $1,000.
With an arrest of possession of an amount of pot from one ounce to 110 grams the charge is a Class B felony and comes with a possible jail sentence of up to ten years behind bars with a $10,000 fine. Anyone arrested with any amount of marijuana exceeding 110 grams will be sentence according to their prior convictions.
Oregon Marijuana Selling, Growing or Manufacturing Penalties
Those working outside of the framework of the medicinal marijuana laws can face jail time and penalties. With an amount less than 5 grams, the charge is a misdemeanor and has a small fine. Being convicted of selling 5 grams to 1 ounce is also a Class A misdemeanor but comes with a possible jail sentence of one year and a $5,000.
If you are arrested for selling or growing any amount of pot over 5 grams you will be charged with a Class B felony. When convicted, you could serve up to ten years in jail and be forced to pay $100,000 in fines. If you are convicted of that same charge that occurred within 1,000 feet of a school or to a minor, the jail time shoots up to 20 years.
All of those convictions also come with a suspended driver’s license for up to six months.
Oregon Marijuana Paraphernalia Penalties
According to the Oregon marijuana laws, selling marijuana paraphernalia can lead to one year in jail and a $5,000 fine. There is no criminalization for possessing paraphernalia, just for selling it to another person.