Best DWI Attorneys in Houston
- Best DWI Attorneys in Houston
- Find a DWI Lawyer Near You
A DWI, DUI, or BUI charge in Texas carries serious consequences. You could lose your driver’s license, face a significant increase in car insurance rates, pay large fines and court costs, face a $3,000.00 to $6,000.00 driver’s license surcharge, and conceivably face jail time. Even if your case is eventually dismissed, reduced to another crime, or you win your trial, you will experience distress, inconvenience, and costs for bail and attorney. Connect with Houston’s top DWI attorneys. Have the best legal experts on your side. Based on genuine customer feedback from the most trusted platforms, we evaluated 112 Houston DWI Lawyers – here are our top 10 picks.
Butler Law Firm
11500 Northwest Fwy Suite 400, Houston, TX 77092; Phone: (713) 236-8744
Many people are unaware that it is perfectly legal in Texas for an adult to drink alcohol and drive—as long as that adult retains his or her mental and physical faculties. And the problem with most field sobriety tests is that they don’t provide the complete picture—if a person is nervous or tired, or if they have a medical condition, they may ‘fail’ a test even if they are not intoxicated. If you have been charged with DWI/DUI, you need a DWI attorney who only practices DWI defense. We only do this. DWI cases are extremely complex, involving legal and scientific issues that many lawyers are unfamiliar with. We routinely challenge breath and blood tests at The Butler Law Firm. – thehoustondwilawyer.com
The Martinez Law Firm
2617 Canal St, Houston, TX 77003; Phone: (713) 242-1779
If you’re caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you’ve committed a DWI under Texas law. The decisions you make now will have a direct impact on your driving privileges, freedom, and future. The Martinez Law Firm has extensive experience and practical knowledge of DWI charges and sentencing, as well as knowledge of the Pretrial DWI Program. Please keep in mind that the Pretrial DWI Program, formally known as the DIVERT Program, is only available in Harris County, Texas. – martinezlawhouston.com
Thiessen Law Firm
733 E 12th 1/2 St, Houston, TX 77008; Phone: (713) 864-9000
If you have been charged with DWI, you need the best DWI defense Houston has to offer. Aside from some looming deadlines, a DWI conviction can result in harsh penalties such as jail time and exorbitant fines. Don’t take the risk of going it alone. Thiessen Law Firm’s trial attorneys are the most aggressive you’ll find to defend your DWI case. Too many attorneys falsely claim to be experts in the complexities of DWI/DUI law — not Mark Thiessen. Mark is one of only five DWI specialists in the state of Texas. – thetexastrialattorney.com
Ayson Law Firm
2200 N Loop W Suite 304, Houston, TX 77018; Phone: (832) 209-2297
Not all DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) arrests involve alcohol. Driving while under the influence of other mind-altering substances is also illegal in Texas. The government can charge anyone with DWI if they are driving under the influence of both legal and illegal drugs. Proving a DWI drug offense, on the other hand, can be much more difficult, and with the help of an experienced and knowledgeable DWI defense attorney, you can make sure that the government has its work cut out for them. After your DWI drug arrest, contact a seasoned Houston DWI drug defense lawyer at Ayson Law Firm to begin building your defense right away. We can assist you in keeping your license, your job, and your freedom. – dwilawyerhouston.com
2180 N Loop W #310, Houston, TX 77018; Phone: (713) 222-2828
Most attorneys avoid discussing who is the best attorney because it is frowned upon by the State Bar of Texas. If you search Benavides Law Group on Google, you will find numerous 5-Star Reviews from previous clients. We also have a 10/10 Superb AVVO Rating and have been named AVVO Client’s Choice, Top 100 Trial Lawyers, H Texas Magazine’s Top Lawyers, and Houstonia Magazine’s Top Lawyers. – ericbenavides.com
Trichter & LeGrand, PC
420 Heights Blvd, Houston, TX 77007; Phone: (713) 524-1010
A “DWI Specialist” under Texas law is a lawyer who has been granted the right to publicly state that they have special competence in the areas of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), Driving Under the Influence (DUI), Boating While Intoxicated (BWI), and Flying While Intoxicated (FWI). This is an earned privilege that is recognized and regulated by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Once granted and maintained, the lawyer may advertise that they are a DWI Expert or DWI Specialist, a DUI Expert or a DUI Specialist, a BWI Expert or a BWI Specialist, and an FWI Expert or an FWI Specialist. – texasdwilaw.com
Law Office of Sam Adamo
3200 Travis St 4th floor, Houston, TX 77006; Phone: (713) 568-7011
Our Houston DWI attorneys are well-equipped to provide you with the best possible outcome, with a 40% dismissal or not guilty rate. DWI charges can be costly to your livelihood, and our innovative approach will ensure that your future is protected. Don’t just take our word for it; read what former DWI clients have to say. Our attorneys will work tirelessly to provide these answers. Any blood result obtained in violation of established blood-related statutes, protocols, and procedures should be ruled inadmissible in court. The removal of the blood makes it much more difficult for the State to prove the DWI case. The blood result is supposed to be science, but it frequently resembles junk science. Learn how by contacting a Houston DWI attorney at the Adamo & Adamo Law Firm! – samadamolaw.com
Scheiner Law Group P.C.
2211 Norfolk St #735, Houston, TX 77098; Phone: (713) 783-8998
Being arrested for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is probably not on your list of the coolest things that can happen. However, regardless of the type of intoxication offense, you always have a chance for a favorable outcome if you contact the best DWI attorneys in Houston or elsewhere as soon as possible. Never assume that the worst will happen or that you will lose your case. Even with a high blood test or a high breath test, DWI charges and related cases are frequently defendable. Even if you drove recklessly or caused an accident, you can successfully defend a DWI charge. In fact, even after failing field sobriety tests or confessing guilt to a police officer, a person accused of DWI may avoid conviction. We have obtained dismissals and trial acquittals in virtually every type of DWI case, including the most serious intoxication offenses, at Scheiner Law Group, P.C. – scheinerlaw.com
Madrid Law Firm
1210 W Clay St Suite 12, Houston, TX 77019; Phone: (713) 877-9400
Driving on holiday weekends in Houston, Texas can be stressful and dangerous. Below are some national statistics that will explain why you should be extra cautious when driving during holiday events. Contact the Mario Madrid Law Firm if you or a loved one has been charged with a holiday DWI. Mario Madrid is a skilled DWI defense attorney who will fight to protect your rights. The Mario Madrid Law Firm can mean the difference between a conviction and a dismissal. – mariomadridlawfirm.com
Find a DWI Lawyer Near You
More Top Houston Attorneys
- Top 10 Best Houston Divorce Lawyers
- Top 10 Best Houston DWI Attorneys
- Top 10 Best Houston Personal Injury Lawyers
Houston DWI lawyer cost and fees
Most Texans have a severe misconception about the cost of their DWI. They believe that pleading guilty will save them money over the cost of retaining an attorney and defending themselves against the charge. You should reconsider. This table depicts the costs of a DWI conviction in Texas.
|Cost to Tow Your Car||$135.00|
|Car Storage Fee Per Day||$25.00|
|Community Service Hours (at Min. wage)||$325.00|
|License Reinstatement Fee||$125.00|
|Add These Probable Additional Costs|
|Alcohol Education Classes||$135.00|
|Auto Insurance Increase||varies*|
|Minimum DWI Surcharge||$3,000.00|
As you can see, the average cost of simply pleading guilty is at least $6,360.00, not including attorney fees or insurance company surcharges. That could be an extra $1,000.00 or more per year for the next three years.
You should also consider the possibility of jail time. For a first offense, you are unlikely to face jail time. However, if you are arrested and convicted of a second DWI offense, you will face mandatory jail time ranging from 3 to 30 days.
Isn’t that a depressing image? But, if you fight and are successfully able to keep a DWI conviction off your record, you can avoid these charges as well as the increase to your car insurance rates.
So, to put it simply, can you afford not to fight the charge? Because, even without attorney fees, you’re looking at a minimum of $5,206.14 in non-attorney fees. And the DWI conviction will remain on your record indefinitely. And, as I’ve already mentioned at this link, this could seriously harm you now and in the future.
* This does not include the gouging you will receive from your insurance provider when it comes time to renew your policy.
Texas Drunk Driving Laws FAQ
It seems almost fitting that our second-biggest state is also home to some of the biggest DWI penalties. But don’t let a recent DWI charge ruin your life. With the help of an experienced DWI lawyer right in the Lone Star state, you could be well on your way to winning your DWI case. We’ve compiled some helpful information relevant to Texas DWI laws and penalties.
Two Separate Cases
A DWI charge in Texas sparks two different cases. You’re probably already aware of the first case: criminal. While in court, the judge may sentence you to 3 days up to 180 days in jail for a first-time offense. Your fine will be $2000 and you’ll have to pay an annual fee of $1000 to $2000 for three years to have your license reinstated. In place of jail time, you may be put on probation for up to 1 year. If the judge orders an ignition interlock system installed in your car, you will have to pay for this. It prevents you from starting your car with alcohol on your breath.
The second case is an administrative license revocation case. The state of Texas is seeking to take away your license. You will receive a notice of suspension form. From that day, you only have 15 days to request a hearing in writing. If you don’t request the hearing, you will automatically lose your license. If you failed your chemical test, plan on not driving for 90 days. If you refused the chemical test, your license will be suspended for 180 days.
Texas BAC Level
Texas police will ask you to submit to a chemical test if they suspect you have been drinking and driving. What are they trying to determine? Your BAC or blood alcohol content. In Texas, it is illegal to have a BAC of .08% or more while driving. The three chemical tests are blood, breath, or urine.
Field Sobriety Tests
In order to “back up” the claim that you have been drinking and driving, police may ask you to perform a field sobriety test. Most police use the HGN (horizontal gaze nystagmus), the One Leg Stand, and the Walk and Turn. From involuntary eye jerking to loss of balance, these tests help police determine if you’ve consumed alcohol. Such symptoms are often related to drinking alcohol.
What is Zero Tolerance?
This law applies to drivers under the age of 21. If they have any BAC, they are DWI and will face a 60-day license suspension, up to a $500 fine, 20-40 hours of community service, and an alcohol education class.
Hiring a Houston DWI Attorney can be an invaluable asset if you are facing a DWI charge. An experienced and knowledgeable attorney will provide you with the best possible defense, while also making sure that your rights are protected and preserved throughout the entire process. Houston DWI Attorneys will negotiate on your behalf and make sure that any potential penalties are minimized as much as possible. Furthermore, an attorney can help you understand the entire process, and provide guidance throughout.