Arkansas Class A Misdemeanors
Arkansas categorizes misdemeanors into three types. Class A contains the most serious misdemeanors. A class Misdemeanors carry a maximum sentence of three hundred sixty-five days in county jail. Inmates may be held in the state penitentiary at times. A fine may also be imposed in addition to a jail sentence.
Sentencing for a Class A Felony Misdemeanor is determined by the crime committed and whether or not anyone was injured. If a person is found guilty, he or she may face a variety of punishments. Probation, community service, and other fines are common penalties for misdemeanors in this category.
The fine limits for misdemeanors and violations were raised and went into effect on July 1, 2009. This increase occurred as a result of Act 209, which changed the fine limits in all classes: Misdemeanors in Class A were advanced to $25,000, Misdemeanors in Class B were advanced to $1,000, and Misdemeanors in Class C were advanced to $500.
Municipal ordinance violation fines were raised from $500 to $1,000 under Act 341, and continuing violations were raised from $250 to $500.
Changes were also made to the DWI offense laws in terms of driver’s license suspension. Act 922 reduced the restricted license period for both third and second DWI offenses from 365 days to 45 days. After the timer has been stopped, an interlock device can be installed.
Act 1293 increased the suspension period for first-time DWI offenders from 120 days to 180 days.
According to General Laws Act 33, any aggravated animal cruelty to a dog, horse, or cat is a crime. If committed knowingly, this offense is now classified as a Class D felony. Act 33 makes animal fighting illegal in the state of Arkansas.
Act 976 states that anyone who knowingly gives alcohol to a person under the age of twenty-one who is not a family member while on his or her own private property is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor. Only if the property owner is present at the time of the alcohol consumption can he or she be charged.
Act 650 increased the penalty for negligent homicide to a Class B felony. Act 650 also states that a previous conviction for negligent homicide counts as a previous offense and increases the DWI penalty.
Act 332 amended aggravated assault in the first degree in relation to strangulation crimes.
Aggravated assault against a household or family member was added to the list of domestic battery offenses and was reduced from a Class D Felony to a Class A Misdemeanor. This is for those who have a prior conviction within the last five years.
Misdemeanor Expungement in Arkansas
When a person completes probation, the court may order that the conviction be removed from the accused’s record. This is only applicable if the convict was under the age of twenty-six at the time of the felony offense and had no previous felony convictions of capital offense, first degree murder, second degree murder, first degree rape, kidnapping, or aggravated robbery; was over the age of eighteen and had no previous convictions of a controlled substance; or had no prior felony convictions.