Arkansas Felony Penalties
Felonies in Arkansas carry steep fines that vary depending on the felony class. Fines for both Class A and Class B felonies shall not exceed $15,000.00. The maximum fine for a Class C or D felony is $10,000.
Unclassified felonies can be charged as misdemeanors under specific statutes, with fines ranging from one thousand dollars for a Class A Misdemeanor to five hundred dollar fines for Class B Misdemeanors to one hundred dollar fines for Class C Misdemeanors. Under certain codes, unclassified felonies may also face felony charges of fine payment of no more than one hundred dollars, as well as payment of all property damages.
Felony Imprisonment in Arkansas
Felonies are more commonly punished with jail time, which varies depending on the crime and the felony classification. A Class Y Felony carries a minimum sentence of ten years in prison and a maximum sentence of forty years to life in prison. Class A felonies can result in prison sentences of up to thirty years, but no less than six years. Class B felonies frequently carry prison sentences of no less than five years and no more than twenty years.
Class C felonies can result in prison terms of up to ten years or as little as three years. A Class D Felony is punishable by up to six years in a state prison. Unclassified felonies have predetermined incarceration terms. When charged as a misdemeanor, an Unclassified Felony may face up to one year in jail for a Class A Misdemeanor, ninety days for a Class B Misdemeanor, or thirty days for a Class C Misdemeanor.
Boot Camp for the Arkansas Department of Corrections
Individuals who meet certain requirements can attend a boot camp run by the Department of Corrections. First-time offenders, non-violent criminals, and sentences of less than ten years are among those eligible. Boot camp is a program that lasts between 90 and 120 days. This is the period during which people can wait out their parole, which is much shorter than it would be in a jail.
Individuals are placed under parole supervision after completing boot camp. Some offenses are not eligible for boot camp, but the prosecutor may amend the charge to include boot camp. This program’s eligibility will be determined by a criminal defense attorney.
Expungement in Arkansas
In the state of Arkansas, nearly all juvenile records can be expunged when a person reaches the age of eighteen. Even if an expungement petition is submitted, the expungement may not be granted if the time period requirements are not met, additional convictions are received, previous expungement exits, pending arrest, conviction of a sexual offense, registration as a sex offender, or indication to the court that the case is still open are met.
Arrests and convictions for serious and violent felonies are not eligible for expungement in Arkansas. This privilege is only available for first-time misdemeanors and non-violent felonies.