Wisconsin is to cheese what Texas is to oil. In fact, Wisconsin leads the nation in cheese production. That is why the locals happily wear their “cheese-head hats” to show their pride. Wisconsin’s overall dairy industry is second only to California is production amounts. The majority of Wisconsin residents can trace their family trees back to Germany but it is the one state with the most Polish ancestries.
Wisconsin citizens have a long and proud record of hard work and dedication to their jobs. With a total population hovering just over five million, Wisconsin is a diverse and active group of people making many contributions to American society from the arts to sports.
The basis for the Wisconsin labor laws has been established by using the foundation of the federal labor laws. This starts with the minimum wage which is $7.25 based on a 40-hour work week. For any hours over those first forty, the worker should be paid time and half of their hourly salary.
Wisconsin Labor Law Breaks
Under-18 workers who work six or more straight hours receive 30 minutes of duty-free time. If their shifts are planned after 8 p.m., 16 and 17-year-olds must get 8 hours off in between them.
Wisconsin follows federal law by default when it comes to working breaks for adults. Only if it lasts less than 20 minutes must a meal break be paid if an employer wishes to offer one. As long as the employee is entirely relieved of all obligations, breaks longer than 30 minutes are considered meal intervals and do not require payment.
Wisconsin Minor Labor Laws
When it comes to work-related matters in Wisconsin, a minor is considered anyone between the age of 12 and 17. Anyone under 12 is not allowed to work. If an employer does hire a minor, they must have a work permit on file for that individual worker. Minors are not allowed to work in businesses that sell liquor except for places like hotels or restaurants where the minors won’t directly be selling or serving alcohol.
Wisconsin Maternity Leave Laws
Wisconsin’s own set of family leave laws differs from the national Family and Medical Leave Acts. In Wisconsin, any employer with at least 50 workers must make available up to six weeks of leave for the birth or adoption of a child. This applies to both men and women.
Leave can also be taken in the advent of an extended medical condition or taking care of an immediate family member who has become ill. The worker who has been granted leave will still have their health insurance coverage and be allowed to return to the same position as the same salary.
Wisconsin Additional Labor Laws
A “One Day in Seven Rest Law” was instituted by the Wisconsin legislature. This states that any worker must be given 24 hours of rest for every seven days of work. However, this doesn’t mean it has to be every consecutive seven days. For instance, an employee can schedule a worker for 12 days of consecutive work as long as the day of rest occurs on the first and last day of the schedule.
Wisconsin also has a “seat for workers” regulation which means employers have to provide a place for their workers to sit when they are actively engaged in their duties. This applies specifically to manufacturers.
Employers don’t have to provide meal periods for workers over the age of 18, although many do. For minor workers, 30 minutes of meal time must be allowed for any eight-hour shift.
Any business can require a medical exam for a potential employee but they must pay for the cost of that exam. Employers are also required to keep a record of each worker’s information such as an address, DOB, salary and hours worked for up to three years after their last day of work.