A famous slogan once used to promote tourism in Virginia was “Virginia is for lovers.” This slogan popped up on T-shirts and bumper stickers. Virginia is also for presidents by being the birthplace of eight former heads of state.
Virginia is also for technology. Recently their exports of manufactured computer chips outpaced the number of coal and tobacco exports combined. Between the technology and agriculture industries, there are a lot of Virginians who are gainfully employed throughout the state.
Like most of the rest of the nation, the minimum wage for a 40-hour work week is $7.25 per hour. Overtime is paid at time and half of the hourly wage. These minimums have been adapted from the Fair Labor and Standards Act passed by the US Congress. Additionally, this law provides that an employer does not have to pay for any legal holiday. Although many employers have decided to offer paid holidays and vacations as a fringe benefit for their workers.
Virginia Labor Law Breaks
Regarding rest periods for workers 16 and older, Virginia adheres to federal law by default. Only if it lasts less than 20 minutes must a meal break be paid if an employer wishes to offer one. As long as the employee is entirely relieved of all obligations, breaks longer than 30 minutes are considered meal intervals and do not require payment. For workers under the age of 16 who put in more than five straight hours, at least 30 minutes.
Virginia Minor Labor Laws
In Virginia, the legal age for a minor to be working is 14. Any worker who is 14 or 15 years old must have a work permit. When school is in session, the minor workers can only work three hours a day for a total of 18 hours per week.
At 16 to 17 years old, teen worker does not need a permit but they are still restricted from certain types of jobs deemed hazardous. Among these types of jobs are any involved in demolition, roofing, coal mining, operating heavy machinery, logging, or sawmilling.
Any minor must be given a 30-minute meal break for every five hours of consecutive work. An employer who doesn’t follow the child labor law restrictions can be fined up to $1,000 per child per infraction. Any employee under the age of 20 can actually be paid a minimum of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of work.
Virginia Maternity Leave Labor Laws
Job protection is at the foundation of the federally enacted Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). This law states that any employee who has worked at a full-time job for up to one year can take a 12-week unpaid leave of absence to tend to family matters. These matters need to concern a newborn infant or recent adoption. They can also pertain to the care of an infirmed member of the family.
At the end of the 12 weeks (or any lesser amount) the worker is guaranteed to be able to return to their job at the same pay. The cutoff for the application of these laws is any company with 50 or more employees.
Virginia Additional Labor Laws
According to Virginia labor laws, an employer can’t deduct any money from a worker’s paycheck to pay for any damages or shortages in a cash register drawer. They also can’t get around this law by having an employee sign a waiver.
Virginia labor laws also prohibit an employer from administering a lie detector test to a potential or current employee. However, federal government workers can be asked to take such a test.