Nevada Felony

In Nevada, felony is referred to as a category rather than a class.

What are the different types of felonies in Nevada, and what is the maximum punishment (including fines and prison time)?

Murder is a Nevada Category A Felony. Terrorism. Obtaining another’s execution. Kidnapping and/or kidnapping of children Any type of sexual assault. A battery of the same. Child exploitation. Dueling. A death sentence or life in prison without the possibility of parole is a Category A punishment.

Burglary with or without a weapon is a Nevada Category B felony. Evasion from home. Multiple felony convictions in the past. Convictions for habitual fraud A prisoner was gassed. Felony B punishment is a minimum of one year in jail or prison, with a maximum of twenty years.

Violating an order against a child is classified as Nevada Category C. Failure to register as a sexual offender. Commodity deception. Land real estate fraud Anyone who accepts bribes as a public, judicial, juror, witness, or executive official is an accessory to a felony. Any harboring, concealing, or treasonous knowledge of a felon, or felony, is a felony. Bribery, intimidation, or threat to a witness or public official Battery without a weapon Seductive sexual behavior. Domestic abuse. Child exploitation, neglect, or conspiracy Stalking. Pandering. Violation of a child support order

Category C punishment is a minimum of one year in jail or prison, with a maximum of five years.

Bribery, extortion, or fraudulently directing the outcome of an election or official vote is classified as Nevada Category D. Failure to register as a sexual offender for the first time. Child brokering or unlicensed adoption Any kidnapping or concealment of a child. Over $250 in real estate fraud. False testimony, perjury, or preventing a witness from testifying Defying arrest. The concealment or impediment of a crime’s discovery. Birth certificate forgery Wiretapping. Manslaughter. Animals that are dangerous. Storage of potentially lethal explosives Child detention, concealment, and removal from person with lawful custody

Category D punishment includes a minimum of one year in jail or prison and a maximum of four years. A fine of up to $5000 is possible.

Illegally practicing law is Nevada Category E. Official misconduct Recruitment for a gang. Distributing, disclosing, and displaying sexual images of others without their knowledge. Child prostitution and smuggling Using lasers to interfere with aircraft. Over $1000 in sales, advertising, or display of goods bearing a false trademark. Theft of one’s identity. Graffiti removal costs more than $3000. Falsely employing child alarm systems. Prisoners are given cell phones. Elections are being coerced illegally.

Class E punishment is one year in jail or prison, with a maximum of four years. A fine of no more than $5,000 is imposed. Probation, one year in county jail, or the sentence being carried out.

In Nevada, are felonies expungable?

After 15 years have passed since the end of incarceration, probation, or parole, Category A and B can be expunged. 12 years old, category C or D. Ten years in Category E.

Under what circumstances?

Suspended sentence, dismissal, acquittal, or domestic violence, defendant cooperation in identifying others Will a felony always be part of the public record (it won’t if it’s expunged, but some states seal records after a certain number of years)? No. The defendant must file the application.

Leave a Comment