Marijuana Laws in Missouri
The results of the Missouri marijuana laws are reflected in the amount of arrests every year in the state. The DEA estimates that upwards of 18,000 residents are arrested for marijuana offenses in Missouri. Additionally, there is around 130,000 pounds of pot grown in Missouri each year. If sold on the streets that could generate around $130 million dollars for the drug gangs.
Missouri currently does not have any medical marijuana exemption laws. However, there is an ongoing discussion happening across the state about putting the issue up for a vote. This matter is not being generated by young college kids, but by the wife of a small town Mayor who suffers from cancer.
Missouri Marijuana Possession Penalties
In Missouri, possession of 35 grams or less of marijuana comes with a misdemeanor charge. If convicted you could face up to one year in jail with a $1,000 fine.
Being arrested in possession of amounts of 35 grams to 30 kilograms, you will be charged with a felony and can be sentenced to up to seven years in jail with a $5,000.
When you are caught with between 30 to 100 kilograms of pot you are considered to be a trafficker and will be charged with a felony. If convicted you could be facing 5 to 15 years in jail with a possible fine of up to $20,000. At 100 kilograms or more you could face life in prison.
Missouri Marijuana Growing/Selling Penalties
Missouri marijuana laws put the possible sentences and charges of growing or selling pot into the same classification categories. For selling or growing an amount of 5 grams or less you will be charged with a felony and can serve up to seven years in jail with a $5,000 fine.
It is a felony to be convicted of selling or growing between 5 and 30 kilograms of pot, but your possible jail sentence goes up to 5 to 15 years with a $10,000 fine.
Selling or growing 30 to 100 kilograms of marijuana could have you serving between 10 years to life in prison. For 100 kilograms or more you will have a sentence of at least 10 years to life with no parole or probation.
If you sell to a minor, you can expect to have 5 to 10 years added to your jail sentence. Selling within 2,000 feet of a school or 1,000 feet of a public housing complex is also a felony with a possible sentence of 10 years to life and a possible $20,000 fine.
Missouri Marijuana Paraphernalia Penalties
Being caught in possession of paraphernalia in Missouri will have you being charged with a misdemeanor and facing one year in jail. If you are convicted of selling paraphernalia you will be charged with a felony and face up to 5 years in jail with a $5,000 fine.