Mississippi Gun Law Details
To a certain degree, the level of gun restrictions depends on a particular state’s history and culture with regard to gun ownership. States where hunting has been a long tradition typically have less restrictions then states with urban centers associated with high crime rates. Mississippi definitely falls into the former category. You are permitted to own and buy a gun, rifle or shotgun, in Mississippi without a license. You are not required to register any of those firearms. The only time when a permit is required is for the right to carry a concealed handgun.
Mississippi is located in the Southern United States. Alabama borders Mississippi to the east, with Tennessee bordering on the north. Louisiana borders to the west, and the Gulf of Mexico to the south. Mississippi is made up heavily of trees and forests. Open carry is legal in Mississippi even without a valid license to carry.
Mississippi Conceal Carry Permit Restrictions
You can apply for a concealed carry permit for a handgun if you are over the age of 21, a resident of Mississippi or an active duty military personal. You can be denied a permit if you are physically disabled from handling a gun, you have a problem with substance abuse, have mental problems or are a convicted felon. All persons who apply for such a permit must be fingerprinted and photographed. There’s also a $100 registration fee that is required.
If you were ever convicted of a violent misdemeanor, you have to have a clean record for at least three years before applying for a conceal carry permit. However, if you were pardoned from that conviction you can apply for the license. Without a pardon, you can also apply to a “certificate of rehabilitation” from the court. If that is granted then you will be allowed to possess a firearm. It’s not against the law for any person over the age of 18 to carry a firearm on their own property or at a shooting range or transporting that weapon to a sport shooting event.
Mississippi has both Castle Doctrine and SYG laws. There is no duty to retreat from any place You have a legal right to be. You may use force, including deadly force, in defense of yourself or others if You reasonably believe it is necessary to prevent imminent death, SBI, the commission of a forcible felony, or to stop the commission of any felony against You, upon or in any dwelling, in any occupied vehicle, in any place of business.
As of 4/15/16, Mississippi permits anyone who is at least 21 years old and not prohibited from owning firearms to carry a handgun without a permit, openly or concealed.
Carry in Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
Yes. Mississippi has no laws prohibiting the carrying of firearms in restaurants that serve alcohol. You can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Places like Fridays or Chili’s unless they have a “No Gun Sign,” then You are prohibited from carrying a firearm into the establishment. This does not include a bar or the bar area of a restaurant – You are prohibited from carrying into these areas. You can carry Your firearm into a restaurant that serves alcohol, but you are prohibited from consuming alcohol while carrying a firearm.
Carrying Firearms in Vehicles
Mississippi permits anyone who may legally possess a firearm to carry it in a motor vehicle without a permit, openly or concealed.
Prohibited Places from Carrying a Concealed Handgun
Although Mississippi might be considered to have less restrictive gun laws, even with a permit there are several places where you are not allowed to carry your concealed handgun. These include any polling place, courthouses, jails, public parks, schools or colleges, places of worship, parades or demonstrations. Certain businesses are allowed to post a sign declaring that concealed weapons are not permitted on the property. Additionally, you cannot have a concealed handgun at any place that serves alcohol.
Additional Mississippi Gun Laws
In Mississippi it is against the law to make, sell or own any weapon silencer that hasn’t been approved by federal law. The same restrictions apply to what are considered to be armor piecing bullets. The gun laws in Mississippi have been adopted for use in the entire state. No local town or county is allowed to adopt their own gun ordinances. This includes creating restrictions for firing any gun or rifle on plots of land that are over 10 acres. You can own a machine gun in Mississippi but it must be registered and comply with any federal laws.
Any gun dealer or pawnbroker will need to keep a record of all handgun sales including the caliber of weapon, when it was sold and to who it was sold. These records should be made available for public review at anytime.
By statute, Mississippi will recognize another state’s license to carry:
“Any person holding a valid unrevoked and unexpired license to carry stun guns, concealed pistols or revolvers issued in another state shall have such license recognized by this state to carry stun guns, concealed pistols or revolvers. The Department of Public Safety is authorized to enter into a reciprocal agreement with another state if that state requires a written agreement in order to recognize licenses to carry stun guns, concealed pistols or revolvers issued by this state.” [http://gunla.ws/ms9]
Mississippi Law § 97-37-1 (2) states:
“It shall not be a violation of this section for any person over the age of eighteen (18) to carry a firearm or deadly weapon concealed in whole or in part within the confines of his own home or his place of business, or any real property associated with his home or business or within any motor vehicle.
If You will be traveling on the Natchez Trace Federal Parkway, please contact them directly at (662)842-1572 for their rules & regulation on transporting Your firearm.”
Anyone contemplating reciprocal carry should check with the current official list maintained by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at the point in time the reciprocal carry is to occur.
Mississippi citizens are eligible for an enhanced permit, which requires different criteria to be met to obtain the license. These permit holders can carry firearms in specialized locations.
Under Mississippi law, a license to carry a handgun is not valid in any of the following places or circumstances, whether it is issued by Mississippi, or a person is carrying pursuant to a reciprocity agreement between his or her state of license and Mississippi:
- Possessing or carrying a firearm of any kind on educational property
- Exhibiting a firearm in a rude, angry, or threatening manner in the presence of three or more persons, which is not in necessary self-defense
- A police, sheriff or highway patrol station
- A detention facility, prison or jail
- A courthouse or courtroom
- A polling place
- Any meeting place of the governing body of any governmental entity
- A school, including:
- Elementary or secondary school facilities
- A junior college, community college, college or university facility
- A school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms
- An establishment dispensing alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises
- Inside the passenger terminal of any airport (unless it is encased for shipment, and checking as baggage)
- A church or other place of worship
- Where carrying is prohibited by federal law
- Any place where notice is posted prohibiting firearms