If there is one thing you can count on seeing during a visit to Kansas is plenty of farmland. They are known the world over for their abundant corn harvests that burst with flavor with every ear. They also grow plenty of soybeans, wheat and cotton. Yet, there is another Kansas harvest that might not be as well known and is very illegal. That would be 15,000 pounds of marijuana grown every year within the state. A crop like that can have a street value of over $100,000,000. It is the job of Kansas law enforcement officials to see to it that particular crop never reaches the street.
Currently Kansas does not have any medical marijuana laws. Therefore anyone arrested with any amount of pot is considered a user or a seller and will be charged according to the amount they were arrested with.
Kansas Marijuana Possession Penalties
There are two levels of marijuana possession charges in Kansas: first offenses or any other following offenses. It doesn’t matter how much pot you have. A first offense conviction for possession of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor and can include one year in jail and a $2,500 fine. For subsequent offenses you could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony and face up to 42 months in jail as well as paying a $100,000 fine.
Kansas Marijuana Growing or Selling Penalties
Much like the rest of Kansas criminal code, these specific marijuana laws are direct and to the point. If you are caught growing five or more marijuana plants you will be charged with a felony. If convicted of that charge you’re looking at 10 to 17 years in jail along with a fine that will be based on the amount of plants you were caught with.
If arrested for selling any amount of marijuana you will also be charged with a felony offense. Whether that amount of pot is one ounce or one pound or more you’ll be facing up to five years in jail with a $300,000 fine. If you are convicted of selling that same amount of pot within 1,000 feet of a school, your penalty and fine can be doubled.
Kansas Marijuana Paraphernalia Penalties
A person who is arrested with marijuana paraphernalia in their possession for personal use will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. Just like the conviction for possession of the drug itself, you can be faced with a year in jail and a $2,500. In other words, even if you have an empty water bong you can go to jail.
If you are convicted of possessing paraphernalia related to the growing of marijuana plants you could be charged with a felony and be sentenced to upwards of 42 months in jail in addition to paying a $100,000 fine.
Kansas Marijuana DUI Penalties
There are no separate laws for driving under the influence of marijuana. This is considered a controlled substance in the same way as alcohol is. The same DUI penalties would apply in the case of a person convicted for driving while high.