Florida Labor Law Breaks
Regarding breaks for workers who are 18 years of age or older, Florida falls back on federal legislation. Only if it lasts less than 20 minutes must a meal break be paid if an employer wishes to offer one. As long as the employee is entirely relieved of all obligations, breaks longer than 30 minutes are considered meal intervals and do not require payment.
For workers under the age of 18 who put in at least 4 hours, 30 minutes.
Florida Work Environment Laws
United States law stipulates that an individual cannot be discriminated against for employment because of race, gender, country of origin, or age. Despite being hired many have faced discrimination while in the work environment. Florida law recognizes that sexual harassment and hostile work environments are not the same circumstances and are to be treated differently.
Sexual harassment in Florida is marked as discrimination and negative attention because of an individual’s gender. This is in contrast to a hostile environment where negative attention is directed at an individual because of his or her age, disability, religion, color, expectant state, race, country of origin, or another factor.
Federal law requires employers to create a comfortable work environment that is discrimination free. When an employee feels he or she is being discriminated against, it is the employer’s responsibility to handle the situation. At times some discriminating cases are handled through court systems if an employer cannot settle the environment.
More than three-fourths of the United States use the policy called employment-at-will. This policy allows either party, the employer or the employee, to terminate any kind of employment for no reason or any reason. Employees, under this policy, have the right to quit whenever they desire without being subject to punishment or other consequences.
An employer lacks the right to obligate a current employee to remain with a business or company if he or she desires not to do so. Normally with most businesses and companies, an employee is required to give a two-week notice for when he or she is to terminate employment.
On the other hand, an employer also has the right to fire an employee without reason. Despite appearing unfair to the employee, the employer is not required to state the reasoning for termination. If a business or company is downsizing, good employees may be terminated for no personal reason but for financial or economic issues. However, when only certain types of employees are being terminated, such as those over a certain age or a certain race, the termination is illegal and discriminatory.
No federal or Florida law keeps companies and businesses from discriminating against minors or those under the age of twenty-five. These individuals are to be paid the same salary and are to be subject to the same benefits and promotions that other workers are. Some companies or businesses may legally offer special treatment for employees over a certain age, such as those over the age of sixty.
Florida Maternity Leave
Maternity leave in all states is designed to allow new parents the opportunity to bond and care for their newborns or for adoptive parents to care for and bond with new children. Maternity leave or family leave is allotted for twelve weeks in a row without any breaks or a spread over several months.
Some companies may not allow leave because of limited staff. Leave is also allowed for the care of elderly parents, sick children, illnesses, and hospitalization under the Family and Medical Leave Act. Paternity leave is also often allowed.