In the state of Connecticut, felonies and misdemeanors are classified alphabetically. In the case of felonies, these classifications are typically denoted by the number of years served in prison. A capital felony is punishable by death by hanging or life in prison, whereas a Class A felony for murder is punishable by 25 to 60 years in prison and up to $20,000 in fines. Felonies vary from here.
- A Class A felony without a murder charge carries a sentence of ten to twenty-five years in prison and a fine of up to twenty thousand dollars.
- A Class B felony carries a sentence of one to twenty years in prison and a fine of up to fifteen hundred dollars.
- A Class C felony carries a sentence of one to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Classification of Misdemeanors
These are distinct from misdemeanor classifications. A class Misdemeanors include third-degree assault, second-degree threatening, fourth-degree sexual assault, first-degree criminal trespassing, fourth-degree larceny, and violation of a protective order.
Those charged with a Class A Misdemeanor face up to a year in jail and up to $2,000 in fines.
Third degree criminal mischief, third degree stalking, and breach of peace are all Class B misdemeanors. Those found guilty face up to six months in prison and up to $1,000 in fines.
C class Misdemeanors are the least serious offenses and include fourth-degree criminal mischief, disorderly conduct, and sixth-degree larceny. Those charged face up to three months in jail and up to $500 in fines.
Each misdemeanor classification is divided into sections. These sections contain various felony and misdemeanor classes. Rioting and related offenses include unlawful assembly and falsely reporting an incident, all of which are graded.
Another category includes breaching the peace, causing a public disturbance, disorderly conduct, obstructing free passage, and harassment. These can include stalking and intimidation to varying degrees.
Other sections cover loitering and public indecency, eavesdropping and tampering with private communications, bigamy and incest, coercion, and obscenity and related offenses.
Misdemeanor Expungement in Connecticut
In Connecticut, expungement of a misdemeanor comes with conditions: the person must be acquitted of the crime, a nolle prosequi is taken, and the charge is dismissed. Other restrictions may apply. An attorney can file a petition requesting that all police records be expunged and explaining why.
The petition is usually filed in the superior court of the county where the case was terminated, concluded, or disposed of. This petition will be served on the Attorney General for acceptance or objection, which must be responded to within thirty days of service. If a petition is denied, it is possible that the paperwork was incorrectly filed or that the petition was not in the best interests of the court.
When filing for expungement, it is critical to use a criminal defense lawyer because he or she will be able to determine whether or not an expungement is possible, which is only for those with case acquittal, dismissal by the court, and nolle prosequi.