Charged with Aggravated Robbery in Texas?
Have you been arrested in Texas for robbery or aggravated robbery? Both of these activities are major offenses of Texas state law, punishable by long jail sentences and penalties of up to $10,000.
Texas Robbery defense attorney
Texas criminal defense attorneys give excellent legal representation to those accused of robbery in Texas. An attorney uses strategic defense methods to safeguard your freedom and secure the best possible outcome, regardless of the circumstances of your arrest.
Robbery charges in Texas
Robbery is classified as a second-degree crime under Texas Penal Code Section 29.02. Unlike burglary, which does not entail the use or threat of violence, robbery is the act of committing a theft with the intent to steal another’s property, in which the offender intentionally or recklessly commits the theft.
- Causes bodily injury to another, or
- Threatens or places another in fear of imminent bodily injury or death
Some typical types of robbery include purse snatching, mugging, home invasions, and carjacking. To be convicted of robbery in Texas, the prosecutor must prove that the defendant intimidated the putative victim or caused the victim to fear bodily harm or death on purpose or negligently. The offender may be convicted even if the theft was not completed or the property was stolen.
Felony conviction: robbery Texas penalty
If you are found guilty of robbery in Texas, the potential penalties include 2-20 years in state prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
A felony conviction can have a detrimental influence on your life in a variety of ways, including making it harder to find work, find housing, and preserve child custody rights.
Statutes on aggravated robbery
If the offender uses or offers a dangerous weapon during the course of the attempted theft, the crime of robbery is upgraded to aggravated robbery. A deadly weapon can be any instrument that can cause serious damage or death, including knives and weapons. A person can be prosecuted with aggravated robbery under Texas Penal Code Section 29.03 if the victim who was threatened or harmed was 65 years of age or older, or was mentally, physically, or developmentally challenged. It is important to remember that aggravated robbery can be charged even if no one is harmed, as long as the other elements are followed.
In Texas, aggravated robbery, sometimes known as “armed robbery,” is a first-degree felony with significantly heavier penalties.
Aggravated Robbery Sentences
Those convicted of aggravated robbery in Texas risk 5 to 99 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000, even if they have no prior criminal convictions. If you are convicted of aggravated robbery in Texas, your chances of receiving probation are slim. The gravity of this offense necessitates results-oriented legal assistance. Hire an attorney who has the skills and resources to assist you in crafting a strong criminal defense and arguing tough cases in front of juries.
In aggravated robbery instances, the jury and/or judge decide on the sentence, which might result in probation if the defendant does not have a criminal record in Texas. When deciding on a sentence, the courts will consider the defendant’s character, criminal history, and mitigating circumstances.
Work with a criminal defense lawyer
Even in the face of complicated aggravated robbery charges that are bolstered by witness testimony or video footage, criminal attorneys are undeterred and able to help clients obtain superior results, be it a trial verdict, dismissal, or lesser sentencing.
When your reputation and future are in jeopardy, you need trusted legal advocacy. Texans who need tenacious criminal defense representation should retain the services of an attorney for a confidential case review to discuss the specifics of your robbery charge.